Setting up Roles and Permissions

Oktopost's Roles and Permissions allow you to define your team member's access to each function inside the platform. Each user in your account is assigned a role when they are added to the account , and each role has certain permissions. By default, Oktopost offers five basic Roles that fit most scenarios:

Role Description
Owner The user who created the account, has access to all functions
Admin Account administrator, has access to all functions
Publisher Has access to all publishing and analytics functions.
Does not have access to account settings, integrations, roles and permissions.
Contributor Can compose in draft mode but cannot approve posts.
Does not have access to account settings, integrations, roles and permissions.
Read Read only access to publishing and analytics functions.

However, you can also create and define custom Roles and Permissions based on your specific needs.

How to Create a Custom Role

  1. Go to the Roles tab under account settings and add a new Role.
  2. Click on the newly created Role to open the Permissions selection window and assign it with permissions.

Once the new Role is ready, simply edit each user and assign it with the new Role.

Permissions Explained

Each Role contains permissions which symbolize functions and access level to each function. The five available access levels are Read, Create, Update, Delete and Approve, and the permission types are described below:

Permission Description
Account General account settings
Billing Account billing information and receipts
Campaigns Create, edit and delete campaigns
Campaign Tags View and assign tags to campaigns
Content Create, edit and delete content interests
Inbox Access to view the social inbox
Integrations Connect, disconnect and edit integrations
Messages Create, edit and delete message assets
Posts Create, edit, delete and approve posts
Profiles Connect and delete social profile
Reports Access to view reports
Roles Create, edit and delete roles
Streams Access to view streams
Users Add, edit and delete account users

When creating a new role you can define the access level to each function by checking off the appropriate checkbox. If a checkbox is missing from a certain permission, that means that this permission does not apply to that specific function.

Feedback and Knowledge Base