When you create a post for any of the social networks (either in Message Assets or through Schedule a Post) and paste a link, even though the link appears full-length, it will automatically be shortened once the post is published as a shortened "ok.to" link. Also, the unique character limit for the social network you're creating a post for is actually calculated based on the length of the shortened version.
There are two key reasons behind leaving the link "as-is":
- The link preview populates much faster if the link is not automatically shortened when pasted.
- It is much easier to identify the source of the link when you can see it in full-length in one of your Message Assets, as opposed to having to guess where it links to based on the shortened version.
Tip: To follow best practice, on Facebook, LinkedIn and Google+, once you copy and paste the link into the text box and the preview appears below, you can delete the link and the preview will remain.